Home
    Private Messages   Advanced Search   Rules   New User Guide   FAQ   Advertise   Contact Us  
Forum -> Parenting our children -> School age children
Public school- should we send?
1  2  3  Next

amother
Lilac

Post Mon, Oct 09 2017, 10:53 am
For a few reasons, but mostly due to the fact that I cannot stomach paying for my child(ren)'s tuition and not saving and basically just making ends meet, I am seriously considering pulling my 4 year old out from her school in favor of sending her to our local public school (well-rated, nice environment, close by, etc.) for the next 1-3 years. I went to yeshiva day school myself and got a pretty bad education, and currently work in the same school I send my daughter to (I'm a teacher here in the upper grade level) and see such a lack of financial transparency and general ineptitude overall. TBH, this is mostly stemming from that article that was being passed around a few weeks ago-- where a frum man claimed he could afford to "be Jewish" on $40K/year-- which got me thinking: what if I could save the $12K/year (X2 kids, and that's WITH the tuition break that teachers get!)?

My only REAL concern is my anxiety levels. As someone who grew up frum, and spent the majority of her life in an incredibly insular lifestyle, I cannot imagine sending my daughter out to the "public school system" that our community (both yeshivishe and modern orthodox) so greatly fears.

Can anyone help me out? Advice? Ideas? Opinions? I'd particularly appreciate the "definitely yes" or "absolutely not" responses. I don't plan on "dragging" my friends' kids along with my girls-- I asked their advices, and they all said it was a great option, but no one seems to be willing to pursue it as far as I am-- so we'd literally be doing this by ourselves :/ Has anyone been through this?

amother
Natural

Post Mon, Oct 09 2017, 10:59 am
DON'T DO IT!

amother
Lilac

Post Mon, Oct 09 2017, 11:01 am
amother wrote:
DON'T DO IT!