Home
    Private Messages   Advanced Search   Rules   New User Guide   FAQ   Advertise   Contact Us  
Forum -> Working Women
What can I do with an accounting degree?

amother
Wine

Post Mon, Oct 30 2017, 5:00 pm
If I don't want to be an accountant any more? I have my CPA and several years of experience. I would prefer not to go back to school.

amother
Aquamarine

Post Mon, Oct 30 2017, 5:14 pm
throwing this back at you - have you done more than one type of accounting job? There are a range of things an accountant does, that take advantage of the CPA earning power.

amother
Wine

Post Mon, Oct 30 2017, 5:31 pm
Yes. I've done tax and a controller/cfo type job. I really need a change.

amother
Cerise

Post Mon, Oct 30 2017, 5:32 pm
amother wrote:
If I don't want to be an accountant any more? I have my CPA and several years of experience. I would prefer not to go back to school.

Controller, auditor, tax controversy, forensic accountant, finance, to name a few. I love tax controversy and procedure but you need to gain experience.

samantha87

Post Mon, Oct 30 2017, 6:29 pm
Lots of general business management and finance work, from what I've seen. Some have MBAs or CFAs, but many don't.

To be more creative, financial planning, teaching CPA review, general business classes.

oliveoil

Post Mon, Oct 30 2017, 7:00 pm
My friend makes great money on her own schedule tutoring people for the CPA.

thunderstorm

Post Mon, Oct 30 2017, 7:58 pm
Many companies require that the people in HR ( Human Resources) have a CPA . Perhaps that's something that would interest you. A director of an HR dept. may be suitable for you and more enjoyable.

amother
Magenta

Post Mon, Oct 30 2017, 8:00 pm
A really weird idea - colleges pay top dollar for accounting professors. Would you want to teach?