Home
    Private Messages   Advanced Search   Rules   New User Guide   FAQ   Advertise   Contact Us  
Forum -> Household Management
Is a tablet w/external keyboard ok? Or do I need a laptop?
1  2  Next

amother
Pearl

Post Wed, Nov 15 2017, 11:01 am
I like to shop at Costco so am working within the confines of what Costco offers online. My very old laptop died and I'm looking to replace it. I am wondering if a tablet (with an attached full size keyboard) would suffice for my purposes:

1. Writing. I'm a writer. I write a lot. Years ago I tried (regret not buying it) a laptop with a feature that allowed for freezing the cursor, or whatever you call it. I could type with my eyes closed and the cursor wouldnt be all over the place. Do you know what im referring to?

2. Internet searches and downloads. On a typical day I need to download, read, and print 20-30 pdf's. (Some containing 25 pages average)

3. Connect to my printer easily. So no chromebook sort of thing.

4. Good Skype, and other video platforms, connection. So again, no chromebook.

That's basically what I use the laptop for. Do you think a tablet would do? I see they're selling for 170. I've never had a tablet so am clueless.

If a tablet won't cut it, I'll look for a laptop. Any recommendations for an inexpensive one?
Thanks!!!

lavenderchimes

Post Wed, Nov 15 2017, 11:06 am
An ipad is not good for any serious writing. You need a laptop. I'm sorry I don't have ideas -- though I will be in the same situation, soon!

Iymnok

Post Wed, Nov 15 2017, 11:11 am
You can't type nearly as fast on an iPad. It's not a computer, so any word processing is uncomfortable.

amother
Pearl

Post Wed, Nov 15 2017, 11:12 am
lavenderchimes wrote:
An ipad is not good for any serious writing.

Why not?

SixOfWands

Post Wed, Nov 15 2017, 11:13 am
Iymnok wrote:
You can't type nearly as fast on an iPad. It's not a computer, so any word processing is uncomfortable.