Home
    Private Messages   Advanced Search   Rules   New User Guide   FAQ   Advertise   Contact Us  
Forum -> Working Women
What would u do--?

gold21

Post Fri, Oct 19 2007, 11:57 am
I work as a school secretary and really hate working full time. (8:30- 4:40) I had to work full time cuz my dh was first in kollel, and then when I said that I wanted to stop working so much, he was like No prob and he went to work, but at first didnt make such a great salary, so we needed my income too. anyhow Baruch Hashem my dh is really happy at his new job and it pays well B"H. so...now its october...in middle of the scool year...and if I dont need the money then I dont want to work full time. I have a 16 month old son and wanna be with him as much as possible. Now, the school actually just gave me a 2,000 dollar bonus at the end of the summer (they said they saw I put in a lot of time and effort) and gave me a raise for this year- the only person that got a raise from the whole staff. I guess they really wanna keep me happy. and I did ask for that raise, I didnt just get it. at the time that I asked for the raise, I thought I may stay a whole year because my dh was not yet settled in his new job and I didnt know how it would work out.... So anyhow I really wanna talk to my director about this. I mean how wrong would it be for me to tell her that I cant do full time work anymore? after just getting a raise and bonus and they treat me well and its in the middle of the school year? on the other hand, do I have to put my life on hold now for a whole year to be "nice"? working full time is really difficult for me, and besides, against my principles as a mom. I really only put in the hours out of necessity. opinions please

Mevater

Post Fri, Oct 19 2007, 12:02 pm
Is your son well taken care of and happy?

Would the two or so hours a day of less work, make that much difference to you or your son?