Home
    Private Messages   Advanced Search   Rules   New User Guide   FAQ   Advertise   Contact Us  
Forum -> Working Women
Finding a job that fits your child's school schedule
1  2  Next

amother
Periwinkle

Post Thu, Nov 16 2017, 9:12 pm
How do you find a job that fits with your child's school schedule??

It is sooooo hard for me to find jobs. Also, I've been out of work for 6 years (I decided to be a stay at home mom). Even if I do find a job, it won't be a high enough income (the job I was working at prior to having kids paid me $30,000). I worked in a hospital, but as you can see, the income wasn't high (I can't and won't go back to school right now to get a better career with higher salary because we don't have money for school and I really need to work). I was called for an interview at a hospital for the same type of job, but decided not to go for that. There's no way that with commute, I'd be home around 8-9pm and not see my kids when they go to sleep. I also don't want to take a job that is after 3:30pm. My kids get out at 3:30pm and we just can't pay extra for a babysitter AND tuition. So I was looking at stay at home jobs, and no luck so far. I was looking as being a virtual assistant, secreterial jobs. If we had any money saved, I'd take a chance and invest in selling products on amazon or ecommerce site, but I can't do that either. So what should I do?? It is REALLY hard. I don't have family around that could help bring back the kids after school if I do find work from 9-5pm. How do you do it??!

amother
Lime

Post Thu, Nov 16 2017, 9:19 pm
I was a SAHM for over 10 years. I didnt want to go back to my career which is full time. I looked for any office job, as long as the hours were ok. I BH found one. The pay isnt great, it more than covers any work related expenses. There is room for growth there, otherwise I can always leave once I can work for more hours.

amother
Oak

Post Thu, Nov 16 2017, 9:25 pm