Home
    Private Messages   Advanced Search   Rules   New User Guide   FAQ   Advertise   Contact Us  
Forum -> Relationships -> Giving Gifts
Who is the norm to tip for Chanukah? What amount?
1  2  Next

amother
Dodgerblue

Post Mon, Dec 04 2017, 4:58 pm
This is my oldest so this is my first time and I'm not sure what the norm is. I know I don't have to tip anyone and I'm not looking to spend a lot of money, but I would like to do what is generally considered normal.
How much per:
Teacher
Assistant (2)
Speech therapist & OT - and am I supposed to tip them?
Babysitter - an older women she picks up my kids once a week from school and watches them for 3 hours - do I tip her & if yes, how much?
Dds driver - private transportation so I pay him every month. Do I give him a tip & how much?
Any other school personal I'm not thinking of?

This is in Brooklyn
Thanks in advance for any help

elisheva25

Post Mon, Dec 04 2017, 5:01 pm
I also want to know the same thing
A Rebbe ? ( elementary school kids)
Therapist SEIT?

amother
Burgundy

Post Mon, Dec 04 2017, 5:14 pm
Rebbe -50 and another 50 on purim
Morah 50
Teacher 25
Therapist25
Driver 20
Babysitter between25 and 50. U have to decide based on relationship etc
I live in bkln and dh and I work overtime to afford it. I think our total this yr came to $730

amother
Ivory

Post Mon, Dec 04 2017, 5:23 pm
amother wrote:

I live in bkln and dh and I work overtime to afford it. I think our total this yr came to $730

kol hakavod!

thunderstorm

Post Mon, Dec 04 2017, 5:30 pm
Good for you that you can. In our home we are unable to give anything to anyone. But I do send a note thanking them even without the money. I try to give Purim to the rebbes at least $50 so that they can it towards Pesach expenses. Even if I worked overtime that money would go to pay for our food. We live pay check to paycheck with no room for extras.

Ruchel

Post Tue, Dec 05 2017, 6:32 am