Home
    Private Messages   Advanced Search   Rules   New User Guide   FAQ   Advertise   Contact Us  
Forum -> Working Women -> Teachers' Room
How to like (or at least not hate) this one kid in my class
1  2  Next

amother
Aubergine

Post Wed, Dec 20 2017, 8:25 pm
I have been a teacher for many years. I have always had kids in the class that could be seen as annoying or frustrating emotionally, behaviorally, etc and I have never had any issues with being patient and fair with them. I liked them despite any issues and I truly do care about every student.

This year, I have a student who is really challenging me. The chutzpah and level of disrespect is very personal. The comments are always targeting my stupid lessons or how bad of a teacher I am. I don't get angry or take them personally but I am so so frustrated with the behavior. The principal has spoken to this student so many times. The parents have been called. There have been so many rewards and consequences, yet this child is out to get me. I tried to win her over. I tried giving her extra opportunities for power and flexibility, complimenting. The student is extremely bright and there are no learning or emotional issues or dysfunctional home. She is just very defiant and stubborn.

I never felt that I didn't want a student in my class before. This is new. I have had extremely challenging students but I always still cared about them. For some reason this became so personal. This student is set to destroy my life and disobey in every possible way.

How can I care about the student? I only see that there is no reason for this behavior - it isn't like this to other teachers, there is nothing going on in this kid's life. I'm her entertainment. She loves it. I don't show her it affects me. I tell her calmly to leave the room or other consequence. But she knows. And she loves that.

amother
Copper

Post Wed, Dec 20 2017, 8:34 pm
Nurtured Heart approach.
https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=r1_OOwJgXFY

amother
Lavender