Home
    Private Messages   Advanced Search   Rules   New User Guide   FAQ   Advertise   Contact Us  
Forum -> Working Women
Working in an Office vs Teaching

Starhavah

Post Mon, Nov 12 2007, 6:19 pm
I am a certified teacher and I have several years of management experience (some of it managing teachers but some of it managing people in their late teens and 20's). Anyway, I am unemployed and I need a job. I want to work in an office but I do not type well. I type fine when I am typing from my brain but when I have to type off a letter that someone else wrote, I keep looking back to the computer to make sure I did not make mistakes. I think I am not confident that I actually know where the keys are, despite the fact that I never actually look at the keys when I am typing from my brain.

Does anyone have any ideas about how I can raise my typing speed. How can I get myself to stop looking at the screen to check for mistakes?

Star Havah

Maya

Post Mon, Nov 12 2007, 6:31 pm
I have a similar problem; I can only type when looking at the screen. I rarely type looking down at the paper. I memorize what I need to type.

There are many computer software programs, or even plain discs ( you might find s/t free on Google) that will help you practice your typing. Maybe u try that.

mumoo

Post Thu, Dec 06 2007, 12:07 am
I may know of a job for you- a Rabbi asked me several weeks ago and may have filled italready, but, maybe not..... pm me if you are interested. I would like to speak to you to see if it is a good shiddduch. of course I would need to ask if it is still available, but I'll do that at work tomorrow.

btw- I am also a certified teacher, now running a kollel office and I can only type if I look at the keys! Some things are more important than wpm

Seraph

Post Thu, Dec 06 2007, 3:57 am
they have these clips that clip on to the side of the monitor, to holkd papers on that level, so you dont have to look down while typing. I find them helpful.

catonmylap