Home
    Private Messages   Advanced Search   Rules   New User Guide   FAQ   Advertise   Contact Us  
Forum -> Working Women
Trouble getting RN job being shomer shabbos
1  2  Next

iriska_meller

Post Tue, Jun 24 2008, 11:29 am
I am a new RN - just got my license a few weeks ago. I graduated from a top nursing school with a very impressive GPA and excellent recommendations. I was confident that I will get a job in no time... until the reality struck.
First, the notorious Maimonides hospital, where I had my internship and had raving reviews from other nurses on the unit did not hire me without explanation, even though I know for a fact they DO hire new grads, and the had several vacancies. Recruiter never returned my calls or emails afterwards.
This week I had an interview at NYU. The recruiter and manager were willing to hire me on the spot until the Shabbos issue came up. Then they said they will need to think about it... I haven't got a definitive answer from them yet, but I don't have such a great feeling...
I interviewed at a couple of other places, and still waiting for reply from them.
I really don't know what to do, because all of my achievements and hard work is being ignored because I am shomer shabbos. It makes me feel like a have a disability or something.
Thanks for reading this. I would appreciate any advice and words of encouragement.........

R&RMom

Post Tue, Jun 24 2008, 11:34 am
are you looking to get into a specific unit or are you willing to work any unit?
Are you picky bout shifts? Eve vs. Day...12 hour shifts?

iriska_meller

Post Tue, Jun 24 2008, 11:37 am
Trust me, I'm far from being picky. At NYU I interviewed for med-surg 12-hour nights! And I emphasized how happy I will be to work all legal and christian holidays, as well as sundays Sad((

R&RMom

Post Tue, Jun 24 2008, 11:40 am
so...maybe you will get it after all!
Good Luck..let us know what happens!

Pickle Lady

Post Tue, Jun 24 2008, 11:41 am