Home
    Private Messages   Advanced Search   Rules   New User Guide   FAQ   Advertise   Contact Us  
Forum -> Parenting our children -> Infants
Newborn keeps Vomiting.....

RightOnTarget

Post Wed, Feb 11 2009, 12:29 am
My 4 week old newborn is constantly spitting up. Now it got worse. I finished nursing about 45 minutes ago and he's been throwing up like every 5 minutes. Anyone know if it might be reflux? If not what else? He's being exclusively breastfed.

elf123

Post Wed, Feb 11 2009, 12:36 am
We had guests for Shabbos lunch whose now 3-year-old son had a condition as a newborn that sounds very similar to what you are describing. I am not a medical professional so I obviously can't diagnose your baby, but it really sounds like what they were describing. Unfortunately I can't remember the name of his condition, which required (routine) surgery to correct it and then he was fine. I am not trying to freak you out so please don't be upset, it may not be the same thing, but when I saw your post it really rang a bell so I figured I would respond. Obviously call your pediatrician as soon as you can, if you want I could find out what it's called. Again, your baby may just have "simple" reflux, so wait until you speak to your dr.

RightOnTarget

Post Wed, Feb 11 2009, 12:38 am
like what type of procedure?

Mama Bear

Post Wed, Feb 11 2009, 12:42 am
Im gonna sound like dr ari goldsmith now: REEEFLUX!!!

definitely.

rexie

Post Wed, Feb 11 2009, 12:46 am
Is it projectile vomiting? Is he spitting up his whole feeding? If so, it MIGHT be pyloric stenosis which would require a one time surgery. If it's not projectile and it's not the entire feeding, it may be a very bad case of reflux.

elf123

Post Wed, Feb 11 2009, 12:46 am
It was a minor surgery to correct whatever was causing this condition. The husband and wife are both in medical fields so they recognized it right away. Don't worry though. Call your dr.

RightOnTarget

Post Wed, Feb 11 2009, 12:48 am