Home
    Private Messages   Advanced Search   Rules   New User Guide   FAQ   Advertise   Contact Us  
Forum -> Children's Health
Attention OT's and mothers of children with fine motor delay

amother

Post Wed, Jul 07 2010, 6:12 pm
Does anyone know where I can find some sort of equipment to strengthen my sons hand/wrists. He has very weak hands and is having difficulty writing. He is almost 6. Thanxs.

amother

Post Wed, Jul 07 2010, 6:21 pm
I think you need to get an evaluation. It really depends on whether it's the wrist, or the problem is in-hand manipulation, or strengthening intrinsic hand muscles (you can google those and see if that's what your child is experiencing). Without evaluating your child or knowing exactly what the problem is, I can't really make any recommendations.

SingALong

Post Wed, Jul 07 2010, 6:31 pm
Hi I am an OT student, soon to graduate.

I highly recommend a proper evaluation by an OT. I dont think proper treatment can be determined based on only knowing that his hands are weak. one would have to know the cause, which movements of his are most weak, and what treatemnt would best benefit his precise condition/limitations.
google "handwriting without tears" a program developed by an OT to deal specifically with handwriting issues. their website has a whole parent section, as well as OT's in your area who specialize in handwriting.

I don't know where you live but perhaps see your doctor about geting a prescription for an OT evaluation based on his weak hands. find out your state law, if you have direct access to OT or if you need a prescription. also, find out if your health insurance will cover it. if they do, dr's presricption is probably recquired.

that being said, I can only recomend getting putty for him to play around with, squeeze it pull it, etc for increased finger strength. also fine motor toys like pegs, iron on beads, or mastermind may be good for him.