Home
    Private Messages   Advanced Search   Rules   New User Guide   FAQ   Advertise   Contact Us  
Forum -> Working Women
Feel like can't work, or stay home.

amother

Post Tue, Nov 07 2006, 9:10 am
I have 3 children, ages 8,5, and 3. I have been working in the same job for the past 10 years, with the past 3 years being part-time. My current dilemma is that I have been told that I need to return to work full-time (I was given 2 months notice). My problem is that I find working full-time to be difficult, the part that bothers me the most is not being home when my kids come home from school. I do pride myself on being a supermom and things got done when I worked full-time, but I feel that I am missing out by coming home at 5pm or 6pm after the kids are home from school. Full time work for me would mean being out of the house for 10 hours per day. In the winter it gets even later because I would need to make up Friday time. That being said, I am scared to leave my job and stay home. I have been agonizing over this dilemma ever since my boss told me that she needs me back full time. I think I can be labeled as a workaholic that is terrified at the thought of staying home. At this point, since all of my kids are in school, I feel like I will have too much idle time when I could have been working cuz kids are not even home during all of those hours. I like my job and get a lot of satisfaction from working and doing a job well. In my field of work it is very difficult to find a part-time job, so that is not really an option. In terms of $, we should be able to get by, but it would mean that we would have to budget and money would be tight (it would be difficult to know for sure). Should I stop working so that I can be home when kids get home from school, or should I continue working and send them to a sitter till I can pick them up after work? HELP!!!

JMto2

Post Tue, Nov 07 2006, 9:35 am