Home
    Private Messages   Advanced Search   Rules   New User Guide   FAQ   Advertise   Contact Us  
Forum -> Parenting our children
Can I leave the kids alone?
1  2  Next

amother

Post Tue, Jan 24 2012, 4:19 pm
I get together with my friends approximately once a week for "game" night (anything from Scrabble to Monopoly, to nothing at all). I've been doing it for a few years. We meet for about 1 1/2 to 2 hours and my dh babysits. I love it and it's so great for me to get out (stay in) with friends.

Last year my dh joined a night kollel that he goes to a couple of nights a week, one night being on my game night. We usually meet at 8:00 and kollel started at 9:00, so I would come home after an hour so he could go learn. I really hated leaving early, but we didn't want to have to worry about getting a babysitter every week.

My oldest (a boy) is 12, and I'm wondering if this year I really have to bother coming home early. By 9:00, all of the other kids are in bed sleeping, probably sleeping. Only my oldest is still out of bed (and possibly my second oldest, a 10 year old). I'm only 4 blocks away, with my car, and I could be home within a minute if I'm needed.

Do you think I can have my son "babysit" while I'm gone. He would have no responsibilities except to call me if one of the other kids get up, and I'd be home in a minute, even faster than I often respond when I'm at home. I'm a little nervous with the idea of it, but I'm really wondering if it isn't time to try.

EmesOrNT

Post Tue, Jan 24 2012, 4:21 pm
I was babysitting for neighbors at that age. It depends on how responsible he is.

chocolate chips

Post Tue, Jan 24 2012, 4:25 pm
I personally wouldn't do it but I am scared and I wasn't brought up this way. But if you have Jewish neighbors/friendly neighbors that can check in or he can call if CH"V something happens then I don't see why not.
Make sure he has a phone with him and he knows contact numbers. Also if he is responsible.

Simple1