Home
    Private Messages   Advanced Search   Rules   New User Guide   FAQ   Advertise   Contact Us  
Forum -> Parenting our children -> School age children
Nine year old lying all the time

amother

Post Mon, Jul 23 2012, 4:39 pm
I recently realized that my nine year old is lying a lot. And not only when he did something wrong - that would be easier to understand.

Today, for example, he came over to me with a bunch of drawings and said, "Look what I drew. I'm a real artist!" I know his drawing - those drawing were not his. So I gave him a reality check, I said - wait, this one isn't yours, where's yours? Same with the next one etc. I guess he realized he was busted, so he said, "Oh, these are my friend's. I guess I left mine in school."

Last week he called home from school to tell me he wasn't feeling well. I was on the phone and didn't recognize the number, so I didn't pick up the click. Next thing I know, my MIL who lives nearby calls to tell me that my son is playing with some kids outside her house! Apparently when he couldn't get through he told the school I had said it was okay for him to come home, and then he just left. I had no idea he was coming home, and if not for my MIL seeing him, no one would have any idea where this child was. (By the way - he wasn't lying about not feeling well - he did have fever.)

How do I deal with this??? It's come to a point where I can't believe a word he says.

mummiedearest

Post Tue, Jul 24 2012, 10:16 am
firstly, what kind of school lets a nine yr old go home without having contact with the mother directly? I would call that school and threaten them with legal problems if they ever do that again. seriously. they're lucky you don't sue them right now.

as for the kid, why don't you ask him? talk to him about it. I don't know about other instances, but I'd worry way more about the school incident than the drawing one. the fact that he was willing to leave school on his own like that is quite worrying.

Chayalle