Home
Log in / Sign Up
    Private Messages   Advanced Search   Rules   New User Guide   FAQ   Advertise   Contact Us  
Forum -> Children's Health -> Allergies
Hamotzi on shabbos and gluten free?



Post new topic   Reply to topic View latest: 24h 48h 72h

amother


 

Post Mon, Jan 07 2013, 1:42 am
what does everyone do for hamotzi on shabbos if they are on a gluten free diet??? thanks.
Back to top

Isramom8




 
 
    
 

Post Mon, Jan 07 2013, 1:50 am
I know a man who just doesn't wash and say hamotzi, and a girl ended a shidduch with him when she noticed that. (Because he hadn't asked a shaila.)
Back to top

Newly in Negev




 
 
    
 

Post Mon, Jan 07 2013, 1:58 am
I bake gluten-free oat challah. The vast majority of celiacs/gluten-intolerants can eat this without a problem. It is made from the same oats used for the gluten-free oat matzoh on Pesach. It is expensive and not wonderful for baking, but it does enable me to wash. I bake lots of mini-rolls at once and freeze them. I bring them with me wherever I go.

If I ever forget or run out, I do not wash but instead am sure to have reviis of wine/grape juice after kiddush, to count as my 'seudah'
Back to top

mandksima




 
 
    
 

Post Mon, Jan 07 2013, 3:08 am
Newly in Negev wrote:
I bake gluten-free oat challah. The vast majority of celiacs/gluten-intolerants can eat this without a problem. It is made from the same oats used for the gluten-free oat matzoh on Pesach. It is expensive and not wonderful for baking, but it does enable me to wash. I bake lots of mini-rolls at once and freeze them. I bring them with me wherever I go.

If I ever forget or run out, I do not wash but instead am sure to have reviis of wine/grape juice after kiddush, to count as my 'seudah'


Yes. We did this for a year when our house went gluten free. You can also buy the GF oat matzah to use year round if it is easier for you. The oat challah isn't terrific but palatable for the mitzvah. You can then use leftover challah for bread crumbs or french toast which is actually quite good.

If you do ask a sheilah, you might be told what I was told when I decided to avoid all grains for health issues. Drink a rov reveis of grape juice during kiddush and then you are not required to wash and eat hamotzei. I would suggest to attempt to fulfill the mitzvah if you can eat the GF oat flour though.
Back to top

cinnamon




 
 
    
 

Post Mon, Jan 07 2013, 3:30 am
My friend who has celiac doesn't wash or make hamotzi she drinks a reviit of grape juice instead.
(She did ask a shaila)
Back to top

amother


 

Post Mon, Jan 07 2013, 9:20 am
op here: thanks everyone! im going to buy the oat matzah.
Back to top

melalyse




 
 
    
 

Post Mon, Jan 07 2013, 11:10 am
You should ask a shailah, because not every Rav holds that oats are one of the chamishes Yimai dagan. Therefore those that hold this would say that you can't wash on oat challah and matzah. My Rav holds this way, and says that if you can't eat Gluten, you don't wash and you don't make Hamotzi.
Back to top

B"H YOM YOM




 
 
    
 

Post Mon, Jan 07 2013, 11:55 am
Don't know where you are located but The Gluten Free Shoppe in BP sells gluten free oat Hamotzie oat rolls and challah. (As well as the Hamotzie oat matzah). 718-633-3200, I assume they ship as well.
Back to top
Page 1 of 1 Recent Topics




Post new topic   Reply to topic    Forum -> Children's Health -> Allergies

Related Topics Replies Last Post
Family Shabbos in Chicago
by amother
0 Today at 10:41 am View last post
Chosson/Kallah Apt. Free
by amother
1 Yesterday at 6:32 pm View last post
Full week but need a nice Shabbos
by amother
9 Yesterday at 11:29 am View last post
Bar Mitzvah Shabbos in NY/NJ
by amother
1 Sat, Jul 20 2024, 10:19 pm View last post
Shabbos sneakers?
by amother
118 Fri, Jul 19 2024, 4:13 pm View last post