Home
    Private Messages   Advanced Search   Rules   New User Guide   FAQ   Advertise   Contact Us  
Forum -> Working Women
I hate my Job!!!- need advice

amother

Post Wed, Feb 06 2013, 7:52 pm
I hate my job- I feel like I am not using my brain and not being given the opportunity to do the work I really want to do!!! I am very talented at what I do, however there is not realy opportunity for me to use my specific skill set and so I am basically doing secreterial work ( I have a masters in my field). I try to initiate and to find ways to bring in my skills to the program but it is easier said than done......However on the other hand, the management is very flexiable and I have alot of leeway with my time and hours that I work. I am basically my own boss and my real boss does not care if I come in late and make up my work on my own time. THis is great for me because I have young kids... and so I really appreciate the freedom. I am scared to leave the job.. because I might not find a job with the same laidback structure and honestly, I want to be there for my kids. On the other hand I feel like my brain is turning to mush and I DREAD going to work everyday. I really need advice!! TIA

DrMom

Post Wed, Feb 06 2013, 7:55 pm
Look around, quietly. See what other opportunities are out there.

Can you ask for more responsibilities at work? Cn you offer to take on a new project or expand your role in some way?

amother

Post Wed, Feb 06 2013, 8:06 pm