Home
    Private Messages   Advanced Search   Rules   New User Guide   FAQ   Advertise   Contact Us  
Forum -> Working Women
Att. anyone who runs a medical office.

amother

Post Wed, Feb 05 2014, 2:39 pm
I am starting a new job and have never done this type of job before.
I am going to be an office manager for a doctor. He has not had anyone to manage his office and it is a mess. He would like me to organize it get his filing all in order follow up on calls and make appointments. Sounds easy but I have never done this type of work before and really want this job.
My question is any secrets as to how to juggle the scheduling and what is the best way to get the filing in order.
he doesnt take insurance so I dont have to deal with that.
Also what is the going rate for an entry level person?
Any help will be appreciated as I need this job as my husband was just fired from his job.

amother

Post Wed, Feb 05 2014, 4:39 pm
When I worked in a pediatricians office the patient files were filed alphabetically by last name. All results from tests... Filed in their folders. Today a lot of doctors are computerized and files are scanned and filed in. Also he might have a program for entering peoples appointments or you might have to get an appointment book and do it manually.

mummiedearest

Post Wed, Feb 05 2014, 4:55 pm
op, I have never done this kind of work before. I'll give you some advice from the patient's pov. don't triple-book appointments. find out how long an average appointment lasts from the doctor. ask if he has a policy that allows the office to charge a patient who cancels last-minute. I have been to doctors who triple book each time slot (I got a peek at the appointment book). this results in a three-hour wait in his office. patients don't stick to a doctor who has a long wait.

amother

Post Wed, Feb 05 2014, 6:15 pm
OP here

Thanks for both of your in puts.

Nothing to worry about with overbooking because he doesnt want to see more than 4-5 patients a day