Home
    Private Messages   Advanced Search   Rules   New User Guide   FAQ   Advertise   Contact Us  
Forum -> Hobbies, Crafts, and Collections -> The Imamother Writing Club
Fiction versus Nonfiction

amother

Post Tue, Sep 02 2014, 8:13 pm
I'm a writer of nonfiction articles, essays and such. I recently tried to expand my horizons and write a story and BOY AM I CLUELESS!!
Seriously. Although factual prose pours from my fingers in a clearly arranged, concise and pleasant manner, writing a story is a completely different endeavor. I'm trying to work on all of the skills involved in fiction writing, but I feel like an engineer at an art gallery. I can't even wrap my head around the concepts, let alone make it sound nice.
What's everyone's experience with this? Is a nonfiction writer a completely different animal than a storyteller? Or does talent in one arena mean talent in the other?
Does anyone here write in both genres in equal measure and feel like they excel at both?

the world's best mom

Post Tue, Sep 02 2014, 8:48 pm
Writing fiction is much more difficult in my opinion.

Writergirl

Post Tue, Sep 02 2014, 9:58 pm
Wow! I am the exact opposite. Fiction flows from my brain to my fingers. I publish my short stories for teens adults and kids constantly bh. When it comes to personal essays though, I'm hopeless!

Still trying though, hope to make it one day!

amother

Post Tue, Sep 02 2014, 10:43 pm
Fiction is much, much harder. It takes a lot of practice and a lot of writing stuff that goes straight in the garbage bin. There are great books with writing exercises you work through to help develop as a fiction writer. Also, read fiction not to enjoy, but to watch how they do what they do. Mostly, write, write, and write some more.

I am a professional nonfiction writer, but the only person who has ever seen my fiction is DH, and I have been writing fiction for a few years.

seeker

Post Wed, Sep 03 2014, 12:15 am