Home
    Private Messages   Advanced Search   Rules   New User Guide   FAQ   Advertise   Contact Us  
Forum -> Working Women -> Teachers' Room
I feel like I yell at my students too much...

amother

Post Tue, May 15 2007, 7:28 pm
I teach 27 ten year old boys. I am eight months pregnant and I feel like I am going to crack. I spend the whole day yelling at my students. I dont know of its them or me..or the weather.
Does somebody have a suggestion of how I can keep myslef calm and cool when my students are driving me up the wall. I have no aid so stepping out fo a moment os not an option. Evrything any of them does bothers me...I am having a really tough time dealing right now and I dont know where I can go for help.
I am really upset by this because my boys dont deserve this either, I used to be a good teacher.

amother

Post Tue, May 15 2007, 7:55 pm
Shalom!
I teach at a public middle school so I can definitely empathize with your feelings. My best suggestion is if there are a few particular kids who you can identify as the 'ring leaders' or who are a particular frustration, ask them to sit in the hall and you will speak with them after class or at a later point, when you have had a chance to regroup.
Otherwise, if it is the whole class, try and create some plans that requires minimum involvement--handouts/worksheets/etc giving you a break.

I hope this helps!! Hatzlacha rabbah!!

livalittle

Post Tue, May 15 2007, 10:24 pm