Home
    Private Messages   Advanced Search   Rules   New User Guide   FAQ   Advertise   Contact Us  
Forum -> Yom Tov / Holidays -> Purim
Purim Seuda 2015 on Erev Shabbos - what to serve?

psych-student

Post Sun, Feb 22 2015, 4:14 am
Anyone here in Israel? How are you doing your erev Shabbos sedua, and what are you making?

We will likely start late afternoon, break for kabalas Shabbos, and continue with the Shabbos seuda. Assuming the Shabbos part gets mostly regular Shabbos food (Ashkenazi for us - chicken soup, kugels, chicken, etc.) - how to make it a two-in-one without overload??? Skipping the Shabbos appetizer sounds like a no-brainer, and I'm thinking to go especially light for the Purim seuda but I also want people to have enough to eat. Does it make sense to do a Purim seuda with just hors dourves, or does it need more substantial food? (It's my first time making a Purim seuda so I don't have past experience to go on.) Of course even hors dourves would have meat in them, so everyone would be yotzei the seuda, I just want to make sure that going that style could be substantial. (I was very inspired by the spread in Mishpacha this week!)

Also, does anyone have some cute cocktail recipes for a crowd with regular ingredients (no lime juice or champagne, etc)? I don't know where I can get lime juice here, and I also don't want to buy things I'm only going to use a bit of and then throw out before Pesach.

Yay, Purim is getting closer!

Thanks!

amother

Post Sun, Feb 22 2015, 4:38 am
psych-student wrote:
Anyone here in Israel? How are you doing your erev Shabbos sedua, and what are you making?

You mean Jerusalem. There are places in Israel where the Seuda is on Thursday.

shabbatiscoming

Post Sun, Feb 22 2015, 4:49 am
amother wrote:
Right. I was just coming to write that Wink

OP, not everyone in Israel has the seuda on friday.

But we did once have that. We just made it much earlier in the day. And much much smaller. that was all.

Health is a Virture