Home
    Private Messages   Advanced Search   Rules   New User Guide   FAQ   Advertise   Contact Us  
Forum -> Hobbies, Crafts, and Collections -> Gardening
AMA I'm a former farmer and Master Gardener
  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  Next

MagentaYenta

Post Wed, Apr 01 2015, 11:17 am
Gardening and growing healthy sustainable food is my passion. My background includes spending 6 years working for my state extension service in support of growers and over 20 years as an organic farmer. I also have a Master Gardener certification and Master Food Preserver certification.

If I don't know the answer to your question, I certainly don't mind doing the research or calling an old colleague or two to provide you with the info needed.

Scrabble123

Post Wed, Apr 01 2015, 11:33 am
What has personally been your most difficult crop to cultivate? What are good "beginner" crops for: 1. People with larger backyards and warmer climates and 2. People with little to no backyards and a 4 season climate?

MagentaYenta

Post Wed, Apr 01 2015, 11:49 am
Scrabble123 wrote:
What has personally been your most difficult crop to cultivate? What are good "beginner" crops for: 1. People with larger backyards and warmer climates and 2. People with little to no backyards and a 4 season climate?

I still struggle with brussels sprouts. I either plant them too early and they get tough or too late. I cannot grow broccoli to save my life. Oh and carrots.

Easy starters are bunching onions (scallions) and garlic, rapini, escarole, chards and kale and potatoes, french filet beans, fava beans, or soy beans.

If you are in a warmer climate I would move to mediterranean crops like san marzano tomatoes (they dry and freeze well) and peppers as well as several kinds of basil. Boretta onions and spineless okra too.