Home
    Private Messages   Advanced Search   Rules   New User Guide   FAQ   Advertise   Contact Us  
Forum -> Relationships -> Manners & Etiquette
"The food is decent"
1  2  Next

amother
Denim

Post Wed, Nov 01 2017, 6:54 pm
Would you take that as a compliment? is it an insult?

Tonight my dinner my husband said the food was decent. He uses the word decent all the time, "you look decent" "you're a decent cook" "it was decent"
Its a good thing my self esteem is strong and his comments just go right over me, but I am wondering what others opinions are, so please share what you think!

(I don't take it as an insult because I don't really care if he thinks I am a good cook (my children always compliment and say thank you) but I do find it strange. Don't people use the word decent when they are describing something that is just right above 'bad'. for example "the hotel wasn't anything great, but it was decent".

MagentaYenta

Post Wed, Nov 01 2017, 6:56 pm
Decent to me means edible,not toxic but you can eat it without hurling.

I suggest you download a thesaurus ap for his phone and he can use it to expand his vocabulary.

amother
Blush

Post Wed, Nov 01 2017, 6:57 pm
I would show him the word "decent" in the dictionary and ask if that's really what he means. He may simply have misunderstood the word. He may not realize that it's a synonym for "okay."

It's not quite an insult, but neither is it a compliment.

amother
Olive

Post Wed, Nov 01 2017, 7:00 pm
where did your dh grow up? in some countries in the world and in some homes, there are people who use 'decent' as a mild compliment. look into that

amother
Bronze

Post Wed, Nov 01 2017, 7:01 pm
I’m pretty sure it could be slang for really good.

https://www.urbandictionary.co.....ecent

Ask him what he means?

amother
Dodgerblue

Post Wed, Nov 01 2017, 7:01 pm
I would be insulted. Good for you that you let it go over your head!
Next time I would say "I think you meant it was 'delicious'"

Boca00