Home
    Private Messages   Advanced Search   Rules   New User Guide   FAQ   Advertise   Contact Us  
Forum -> Parenting our children -> Teenagers and Older children
What do you do when DD is 2 hours past curfew?

amother
Cerulean

Post Mon, Nov 27 2017, 5:22 pm
What are your curfew policies, and what do you do in the event that it hasn't been honored? Obvious choice is grounding, but since I'm new at this I'd like to hear what others do.

Eemaof3

Post Mon, Nov 27 2017, 5:28 pm
Can only tell you a tale from my family. When my brother came home long after curfew, my mother was waiting for him and simply said that he would not be going out the following night as planned. He said nothing and each went to bed. In the morning they spoke about it calmly and my brother explained the circumstances which were beyond his control. Wait to discuss calmly. Good luck

amother
Cerulean

Post Mon, Nov 27 2017, 5:37 pm
Well what do you know? Kid is sound asleep in bed. Did I miss the door opening? Thanks for the good advice. Sure I'll need it.

Post Mon, Nov 27 2017, 5:41 pm
You should decide your policies in advance. Consequences are most effective when given closer to the incident.

mha3484

Post Mon, Nov 27 2017, 5:49 pm
I would also find out what local ordinances are. When I was a teen, violating curfew got you a visit to the police station. Cant imagine she wants that...

Post Mon, Nov 27 2017, 6:05 pm
mha3484 wrote:
I would also find out what local ordinances are. When I was a teen, violating curfew got you a visit to the police station. Cant imagine she wants that...

What's with posters and the police today?

I suggest less drastic consequences than something the community would find out about.

mha3484

Post Mon, Nov 27 2017, 6:07 pm
No. I lived in suburbia, if the police saw us walking around after curfew they made a big deal out of it. Maybe they did not have enough else to do. But you could casually mention it as a reason to come home earlier.