Home
    Private Messages   Advanced Search   Rules   New User Guide   FAQ   Advertise   Contact Us  
Forum -> Working Women -> Teachers' Room
Classroom discipline help

amother
Red

Post Tue, Apr 17 2018, 7:24 am
I am cove someone's maternity leave in a regular Ed class. I am a special Ed teacher with minimal regular Ed experience but many years in the classroom. The teacher who I am taking over for runs a pretty heimish classroom and the girls are very unruly.
Most of the strategies I have used for small group are much harder to implement in a class of 30. There is also the challenge that I don't even know most of the students by name, much less their individual needs.
Looking for ideas, emergency measures to get the class under control.
So far the system I have used of one warning, 2nd offense writing assignment, 3rd principal does not seem to be affective enough.
How would you do an individualized chart with so many kids without that taking over the whole class time?
Is a classroom wide plan to way to go? Looking for ideas and suggestions.

amother
Wheat

Post Tue, Apr 17 2018, 8:20 am
What age are they. Your better with an incentive than negative consequence.
Table points first table to 10 gets prizes
Class marble jar when its full popcorn party
If they are older give each child a (laminated )card with a grid of 10/12 squares. They keep it on corner of desk. You give out stickers or a stamp and when ita full a prize. Nachas note home when halfway full maybe.

amother
Tangerine

Post Tue, Apr 17 2018, 8:28 am
Being a substitute is awful. Please lower your expectations. I heard someone say being a substitute makes you become a sonei yisroel. Children feel you aren't a person and aren't deserving of basic human respect. Maybe what I've written has made you angry and you'll walk into the classroom with the anger. It'll make you tougher and indifferent which the students will interpret as "I mean business"! That can help...
Hatzlocha and don't let it get to u!!