Home
    Private Messages   Advanced Search   Rules   New User Guide   FAQ   Advertise   Contact Us  
Forum -> Working Women
Should I put my new RN position on hold?
1  2  Next

Nicole

Post Wed, Nov 07 2007, 1:07 pm
I don't know what to do.
I graduated as an RN in June, and passed my boards the very end of July. I had been looking for a while, but no luck as I needed a day shift- I'm due in a couple of months and didn't see how I could work nights once the baby comes iy'h- dh can't wake up with a baby all night instead of me- men aren't able to do things like that! Very Happy
Finally, about a month ago, I inteviewed at a psychiatric hospital nearby. To make the long story short- they offered me the job of my dreams- part time, meaning three 8 hour shifts per week, day shift. It's only 20 minutes away, driving, - and pretty good pay. They have a Geriatric (old ppl) unit, an adult one, and two adolescent units. They are also opening a children's unit within the next few months.
At the interview, we discussed which unit I would be on. The woman wasn't definite about it, but noted that I had some experience with children. (ahem- I worked for about 4 weeks with a special child in a camp) She asked if I would like to be on the new childrens unit. I said okay. I also pointed out that I have adolescent experience as I was a counselor in camp for a year with that age group. She said, "oh no! I would give you anything BUT adolescents. They're very difficult and you're a new nurse" Fine.