Home
    Private Messages   Advanced Search   Rules   New User Guide   FAQ   Advertise   Contact Us  
Forum -> Judaism -> Halachic Questions and Discussions
Do you get a mitzva for fasting till chatzos
1  2  Next

cookiewriter

Post Sun, Jul 01 2018, 11:36 am
My husband said I don’t have to fast as it’s a nidche and I have to be a good mom to the kids. But if I can go half a day is there any point? Do I get any schar? Or once you break it, it’s like I didn’t do anything at all?

JoyInTheMorning

Post Sun, Jul 01 2018, 11:49 am
I'm really not a proponent of the star-on-the-chart variety of Judaism. I don't think Hashem works that way.

That said, I have learned that fasting half a day, if you can't do the whole fast, is laudable. You are thinking about the meaning of the fast, and you are participating with the rest of Am Yisrael in mourning the tragedies that befell us on 17 Tammuz. That makes Am Yisrael stronger, and it makes you a better person, if you can do it.

elisheva25

Post Sun, Jul 01 2018, 11:50 am
I would assume you get the mitzva. Why not ?
I am doing the same

cookiewriter

Post Sun, Jul 01 2018, 11:51 am
That’s how I always felt but if there’s really zero point, why am I depriving myself of coffee and energy?

iyar

Post Sun, Jul 01 2018, 11:56 am
cookiewriter wrote:
That’s how I always felt but if there’s really zero point, why am I depriving myself of coffee and energy?

If you need your coffee and energy to take care of your kids or for your own wellbeing then go ahead and have them. If you're able to join in mourning the sad things that happened on this day without compromising your health or your children's care then fasting until chatzos is not a bad idea.

heidi

Post Sun, Jul 01 2018, 12:12 pm