Home
    Private Messages   Advanced Search   Rules   New User Guide   FAQ   Advertise   Contact Us  
Forum -> Working Women
How Much Per Hour/Salary?

amother
Turquoise

Post Tue, Jul 10 2018, 10:01 pm
What is the going rate for Admin Assistant who doesn't just take calls and twiddle their thumbs all day? More the position of someone who works within all departments.
36-40hr work week.

At some interviews, employers were surprised by my request of $60-65k and were offering $40,000 range. I have plenty of experience up my sleeve and thought that was a bit low

**Brooklyn**

simba

Post Tue, Jul 10 2018, 10:03 pm
That's not really a clear position. What does that look like HR? Operations?
High level secretary?

amother
Mistyrose

Post Tue, Jul 10 2018, 10:16 pm
What were you paid at your last job?

amother
Pumpkin

Post Tue, Jul 10 2018, 10:41 pm
I think 60-65k is about right for a high level experienced executive assistant at a major company in the NYC suburbs. Don't know about Brooklyn. Lower level but very busy admin assistants in my company (health care industry) earn considerably less, probably less than 40.

chocolatecake

Post Tue, Jul 10 2018, 10:42 pm
The problem with these kind of jobs are that you usually grow with the company. You have to start low and then as you prove your value to the company you get raises. I’m sure there are many admin assistants getting 60 65 but they all started lower and built up.

amother
Turquoise

Post Wed, Jul 11 2018, 4:20 am
I was looking into higher level administrative jobs in different fields. BH I found one that met my needs. I was just amazed to see how employers were generally surprised at the requested amount.

amother
Amethyst

Post Wed, Jul 11 2018, 10:13 am
You were asking for about $30 an hour. That kind of salary usually has a masters, at least a BA attached to it. Do you have either? If not, I can see $20. An hour (40 k a year) being a number they were shooting for.

amother
Mistyrose