Home
    Private Messages   Advanced Search   Rules   New User Guide   FAQ   Advertise   Contact Us  
Forum -> Working Women
Frustrated with our schools
  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  Next

amother
Gray

Post Tue, Aug 07 2018, 10:09 am
Look, I'm sure everyone feels the same way. But the schools sent out their calendars, and I'm just SO FRUSTRATED.

I mean, why do our kids need so much time off? I'm anonymous because I say this to everyone I meet, but schools have to PICK A SIDE. My kids have off for both Jewish holidays AND national holidays. They get off for Thanksgiving and for Martin Luther King Day and for Presidents Day and for New Years and for Chanukah and for and entire week of midwinter break and for basically the entire September and April.

I work for a living, because tuition prices are out of control. And my feeling is, if I'm paying your exorbitant prices, I think we should have more school. I'm not sure why I have to pay for your three weeks of Pesach vacation. I mean, really? Are the Rabbis home all day cleaning? Are they cooking for Yom Tov? And for the women - guess what? I work all day, and I have to somehow make yom tov too. And "Isru Chag" - I mean, we just had all this time off, you can't get yourself back to school?

So now what I have to do is pay for tuition, THEN pay for these teenaged "camps" that pop up on these days at ridiculous prices.

To those that answer me - well, they do this for parents that go on vacation for yom tov. Well, I'm not sure why we schedule our school schedules around their lives. They can make up the work like anyone else.