Home
    Private Messages   Advanced Search   Rules   New User Guide   FAQ   Advertise   Contact Us  
Forum -> Working Women
2 days vs 3 days

amother
Azure

Post Thu, Aug 16 2018, 5:13 pm
I’m a speech therapist making my school schedule for this school year. Would you rather work 2 super packed days where you have no second to breathe, but then be off the rest of the week (with a baby). Or three days, or 2.5 days so you can breathe a bit more but I need to pay the babysitter an extra day. In general I think I prefer 2 but I’m second guessing myself.

mha3484

Post Thu, Aug 16 2018, 5:20 pm
Can you give your students the same level of attention if your schedule is so packed? If you cant then dont do it. I would hate it if my childs therapist is so stressed and constantly thinking about the next person she has scheduled and not giving mine the utmost attention.

amother
Azure

Post Thu, Aug 16 2018, 5:43 pm
I don’t think the kids will suffer but it will be intense for me over the 2 days.

tichellady

Post Thu, Aug 16 2018, 5:50 pm
I would do 3 or 2.5 if you can afford it. It’s nice to have some time to get errands done, go to the gym etc while the babysitter watches the baby

bsy

Post Thu, Aug 16 2018, 6:58 pm
I'm an SLP too and I found my super packed days hard. I'd split it into 2.5 or 3 days.

amother
Lavender

Post Thu, Aug 16 2018, 7:05 pm
I’m also an SLP and would do 2.5 days. This also gives you a bit of leeway if you come late/have to leave early one day, or if a student is absent you can see him a different day.

Woman of Valor

Post Thu, Aug 16 2018, 7:46 pm
definitely work shorter days and be with the baby more each day

amother
Azure

Post Thu, Aug 16 2018, 11:34 pm
WindowMagic wrote:
definitely work shorter days and be with the baby more each day

That’s what I’m debating, you think it’s better to be away 3 mornings, but home more in the afternoons? As opposed to bring away two full
days, but home the rest of the week?

Woman of Valor