Home
    Private Messages   Advanced Search   Rules   New User Guide   FAQ   Advertise   Contact Us  
Forum -> Working Women
Career Change Help

amother
Turquoise

Post Thu, Aug 23 2018, 4:04 pm
Hi All,

I have a Masters Degree in Education/Special Education with extra training in counseling. I have practiced in those fields for many years, and the work has become draining and intense. There were parts I enjoyed, and parts I'm ready to be done with. I am looking for a career change.

Part II is, I would love to open up a home-based business so I can work part time and be available for my kids. I was interested in going into graphic design because I would really love to do creative work. However, I have a relative who is already in the field and she expressed that she would be upset if I were to go into the same field (not sure why she sees me as competition, but she does). I am a bit disappointed, because I love the idea of doing creative and enjoyable work part-time from home and making a pretty good income (which I feel describes graphic design). With that being said, I need to think of another creative job (maybe similar) and would love to hear your opinions!!!

My talents include: writing, working with people, and I do have an artistic flair.

I was also thinking about a home-based embroidery business, but I have no way of learning what to do without lots of trial and error, and I feel that it is a big monetary investment because the machines and supplies are pretty expensive.

Are blogs financially lucrative? Not sure if that's a good career for a frum woman, unless I do it anonymously.

Please share what you think. Thanks!

Posting anonymously because I have discussed this with people IRL.

TranquilityAndPeace

Post Thu, Aug 23 2018, 4:09 pm
It's a myth that having a home based business will give you more time with your kids.

I've had several businesses, many blogs, and now am a newborn photographer with a studio in my home.