Home
    Private Messages   Advanced Search   Rules   New User Guide   FAQ   Advertise   Contact Us  
Forum -> Inquiries & Offers -> Israel related Inquiries & Aliyah Questions
Is this enough to live on in Israel?

amother
Aquamarine

Post Sun, Sep 23 2018, 7:26 am
Thinking about aliyah with 3 kids (ages high school to elementary school). We love Israel.

I have school debt though. (I'm a physician). My payment is $900 per month. It won't be paid off anytime soon.

We have some savings.

Initially, until I master Hebrew, I think my job will require me to fly to the states one week a month to do locums work. I can work and get paid 10K per week. But that also means I will be away from family for a week at a time.

It will take my DH a little while to find a job in Israel. He is in nursing and doesn't speak Hebrew yet.

Is there any "penalty" that I'm not aware of if my job is overseas?

2gether

Post Sun, Sep 23 2018, 7:34 am
Speak to an American-Isreali CPA about dual taxes
35000 shekal/mo. is more than enough to live off if in Israel even with your loans
Go to Ulpan (DH too) don't live here the rest of your life like a foreiner, its not worth it

amother
Aquamarine

Post Sun, Sep 23 2018, 7:49 am
For sure, we do not want to live like foreigners however, the idea of going back and forth is in of itself foreigner like. How do I find a CPA? I guess I would owe takes in the states and Israel.

amother
Blush

Post Sun, Sep 23 2018, 9:21 am
amother wrote:
Thinking about aliyah with 3 kids (ages high school to elementary school). We love Israel.

I have school debt though. (I'm a physician). My payment is $900 per month. It won't be paid off anytime soon.

We have some savings.

Initially, until I master Hebrew, I think my job will require me to fly to the states one week a month to do locums work. I can work and get paid 10K per week. But that also means I will be away from family for a week at a time.