Home
    Private Messages   Advanced Search   Rules   New User Guide   FAQ   Advertise   Contact Us  
Forum -> Inquiries & Offers -> Moving/ Relocating
Potomac or Kemp Mill, MD?

amother
Scarlet

Post Wed, Oct 03 2018, 3:36 pm
Seriously considering a move to one of these areas. In the info gathering stage - haven't been yet but plan to. We want to buy a house - we want a nice house (4/5 bedrm, 4 bath, nice backyard in a SAFE area), and can spend up to $1M. We are moving from California and want a warm, friendly community where our kids have school friends to play with on shabbos. I'm modern (a sahml while my last is still home but plan to rtn to work - I have a degree in International Relations), DH yeshivish (a financial professional). Considering Berman & Torah school for the kids.

We like the thriving Jewish life in Kemp Mill. However, it seems from my research that Potomac is safer, the median educational level is higher and homes are nicer. Side note, DH's business is dependent on the wealthy (financial advisor to wealthy). I just don't know how densely populated with Jews Potomac is? It's important that my kids have school friends living near by.

I don't want to drive far for school & Jewish establishments.

Yes I've posted before but trying to better define my question as I feel we could fit in both communities. We want to visit for a shabbos but trying to get a better idea of which area we should visit if only there one shabbos.

bigsis144

Post Wed, Oct 03 2018, 6:53 pm
I’ve only been in Kemp Mill less than a year, but we’re very happy with the shuls and schools.

I don’t know much about Potomac, though I do think it’s more modern than Kemp Mill. My son had a Torah School classmate who lived in Potomac, but they were the NCSY family, so I can’t extrapolate the frum population from that.