Home
    Private Messages   Advanced Search   Rules   New User Guide   FAQ   Advertise   Contact Us  
Forum -> Working Women
PSA to Working Women
1  2  Next

amother
Gray

Post Mon, Oct 15 2018, 11:23 am
There are two things I have noticed about work emails that women do often that weaken your position and don't look professional.

Using the word "just". Almost every time this word is used it can be eliminated. The only purpose it serves is weakening your sentence and looks like you are apologizing for what you are saying. Remove it from your vocabulary.

Another mistake- saying thank you after an exchange with nothing else to add. It is entirely superfluous.

groovy1224

Post Mon, Oct 15 2018, 11:35 am
It's weird to me that this is directed towards women, when I know lots of people that don't have the best email ettiquette, but okay.

And I disagree that it's superfluous to say thank you even if you are not adding anything new to the email thread. I'm a professional and 90% of the people I email are professionals as well and people reply 'thank you' all the time. It's not expected but it is a normal pleasantry.

amother
Ecru

Post Mon, Oct 15 2018, 11:36 am
amother wrote:
There are two things I have noticed about work emails that women do often that weaken your position and don't look professional.

Using the word "just". Almost every time this word is used it can be eliminated. The only purpose it serves is weakening your sentence and looks like you are apologizing for what you are saying. Remove it from your vocabulary.

Another mistake- saying thank you after an exchange with nothing else to add. It is entirely superfluous.

Can you just explain, please, a little more?
Thank you.

Ruchel

Post Mon, Oct 15 2018, 11:36 am
Thank you: may be cultural

Just: yes it's a known thing women do

amother
Maroon

Post Mon, Oct 15 2018, 11:56 am