Home
    Private Messages   Advanced Search   Rules   New User Guide   FAQ   Advertise   Contact Us  
Forum -> Yom Tov / Holidays -> Chanukah
S/o chanukah gelt to teachers

amother
Wheat

Post Tue, Nov 20 2018, 6:40 pm
Hi,
I'm a teacher.
I hope I don't get too much backlash for this...
In my school, mothers collect for teachers in behalf of the PTA (sometimes not) to give teachers chanukah gelt.
I feel bad for parents, because I know it's a very uncomfortable feeling to say no (I'm a parent who tends to say no).

Getting to the point:
I get a sum of money in an envelope with a generic poem that I assume was printed for the entire staff (usually rhyming with words like illumination, nation, celebration, education, exuberation, etc. Maybe nowadays it will say "thank you for being serious about vaccination Wink" )

It bothers me to NO END!!!
I do so many creative things in my classroom, teach multiple subjects... BE SPECIFIC! What did I, as Mrs. X, teach your daughter this year that was meaningful to her or to you? What songs has she been singing all day at home? How did I encourage students' growth? Is there a middah I excel in? ( "We are aware/ of how much you care/ for the girls to learn/ you show your concern" is NOT specific to me.)

Last year, I joined the collection for the teachers of one of my kids, and I told the collecting mother that I'd like to write a personal poem for her to include instead of the generic for the 2 teachers. We did that, and I felt very happy about it. (One of the teachers appreciated it so much that she asked the collecting mother who wrote it, and then thanked me personally. She said she and her family really enjoyed it.)

Thank you to all the parents who send chanukah gelt. You don't have to at all, and it's very generous of you. If you're joining a group, ask for a talented mommy writer (maybe you!) to write a real letter.

PS