Home
    Private Messages   Advanced Search   Rules   New User Guide   FAQ   Advertise   Contact Us  
Forum -> Chinuch, Education & Schooling
What should I look out for when finding a playgroup
1  2  Next

amother
Firebrick

Post Sat, Dec 08 2018, 11:00 pm
I am a newbie in this field. Its my first child that I will be sending to playgroup. What should I look out for in deciding if it's the right playgroup? I always here stories about people that were unhappy , and wondering what are the warning signs if something's not ok with playgroup?

justmarried:)

Post Sat, Dec 08 2018, 11:23 pm
If it’s clean
If you like the teacher
How many children per adult ratio
If it’s spacious
That’s the main things that are important to me

amother
Ecru

Post Sat, Dec 08 2018, 11:45 pm
What age playgroup are you looking into?

amother
Firebrick

Post Sat, Dec 08 2018, 11:49 pm
18 to 24 months...

amother
Ecru

Post Sun, Dec 09 2018, 12:23 am
Justmarried mentions some great points.

You might also want to find out what the routine is...
Aspects like naptime duration, what happens with the kids when they wake up
How often diapers are changed
What procedure is if a kid in the group gets sick (I have had a playgroup morah keep sick kids all the time because she didn’t get paid for sick days off... and my son caught something new all the time)
If the teacher cooks for shabbos etc during playgroup hours when kids are awake
If teacher seems to be the type who would be willing to communicate
Also - when looking into student teacher ratio , be sure to specify what the MAXIMUM is . My friend had been told ratio was 1 babysitter per six kids and before she knew it there were another 4 kids and no additional help .... and there was obvious lack of supervision

Good luck!

amother
Oak

Post Sun, Dec 09 2018, 1:41 am