Home
    Private Messages   Advanced Search   Rules   New User Guide   FAQ   Advertise   Contact Us  
Forum -> Chinuch, Education & Schooling
Montessori???

amother
Magenta

Post Fri, Dec 21 2018, 10:29 am
I’ve recently been exposed to a Montessori preschool. Can you explain the mehalech and what it’s about. Seems so robotic and like the Kids are little soldiers. They’re happy and precious but I don’t get it.

amother
Blonde

Post Fri, Dec 21 2018, 10:34 am
I have two children in a Montessori preprimary (ages 3-6, which includes "kindergarten"). They love it and are flourishing. I don't claim to be an expert on the teaching philosophy, but if you have more specific questions about our experience, I'd be happy to answer them.

amother
Olive

Post Fri, Dec 21 2018, 1:02 pm
I am not an expert on Montessori but some of the bullet points of their mehalech:
- let the kids learn at their own pace what they are interested (they are excited to learn what they choose and I see from experience that they are picking up things way ahead of their same age friends)
- a range of kids in each classroom. teaches life skills like leadership, following, how to explain something to a friend...
- physically they have a lot of lessons which teach hidden things like how to hold a pencil correctly, how to pour from a bottle, how to hold a scissor, how to dress and undress themselves etc.

amother
Lime

Post Fri, Dec 21 2018, 1:50 pm
I think it very much depends on how each school chooses to implement the Montessori philosophy. In theory, I think it sounds wonderful. In practice, I haven't been impressed with how it's being implemented- in the two Montessori preschools in my area.

Hashem_Yaazor

Post Sun, Dec 23 2018, 5:12 pm