Home

Career change to programming?

View latest: 24h 48h 72h

smileforamile

Post  Fri, Jan 04 2019, 11:00 am
I've posted on here before about the fact that I am a math teacher in public school, and my DH wants to go for programming. I'm not so happy as a teacher; I find it very demanding and draining, and I'm not paid enough for the amount of work that I do. It's really a 24/7, thankless job that is looked down upon in the world at large. Also, I don't think teaching would be worthwhile for me outside of NYC, and I really don't want to be tied down to NY.

It occurred to me recently that I might enjoy programming myself. I have a mind for math and I can be very detail-oriented. I enjoy geometric proofs and logic. I have a math degree, so I don't think I'd go back for a full degree. I'm more likely to try a boot camp or something of that sort.

This is not something that I'm going to consider changing to immediately. I'd probably wait until after DH finishes his degree and gets a decent job IY'H. I also want to get tenured as a teacher first, since then I can always come back to it if I don't enjoy programming.

In the meantime, though, I would like to start trying out programming to see if it's something I can learn. I signed up for Code Academy, and my DH recommended trying Lynda afterward if I think I might pursue it. My question is, which language(s) should I start with? I'm getting conflicting answers from different people. I don't really know which area of programming I'd want to do, so it's more of a general question.

Also, do you have any other comments or advice? I'd appreciate all thoughts and input.

amother

Scarlet

Post  Fri, Jan 04 2019, 11:21 am
It doesn’t matter as much as you think which language you learn first. The more important part is learning to problem solve and think like a programmer. Most programmers end up learning multiple languages.

I suggest you start with an object oriented language first though.