Home
    Private Messages   Advanced Search   Rules   New User Guide   FAQ   Advertise   Contact Us  
Forum -> Yom Tov / Holidays -> Pesach
Pesach cleaning - when do you start?
1  2  Next

amother
Jade

Post Wed, Jan 16 2019, 7:46 pm
I want to start now. I want an extra day a week with my cleaning lady detailing my house. DH thinks I can have my house cleaned and not start until after Purim.

How big is your house? How many kids? Do you eat outside the kitchen/ dining room? How much help do you have? What's your cleaning schedule? Do you stay home for Pesach? Do you cook in advance.

watergirl

Post Wed, Jan 16 2019, 7:51 pm
I’ve been making pesach at home for almost 20 years now. No cleaning help. I start about 2 weeks before pesach. Dirt is not chametz and the house does not need to be “detailed” to make it kosher for pesach. What does that even mean?

Eta - small 3 bedroom house.

Last edited by watergirl on Wed, Jan 16 2019, 11:02 pm; edited 2 times in total

sequoia

Post Wed, Jan 16 2019, 7:53 pm
I live in a small apartment (living room, bedroom, kitchen, bathroom). I eat in bed. I usually start cleaning a week before. No cleaning help.

amother
Jade

Post Wed, Jan 16 2019, 7:56 pm
watergirl wrote:
I’ve been making pesach at home for almost 20 years now. No cleaning help. I start about 2 weeks before pesach. Dirt is not chametz and the house does not need to be “detailed” to make it kosher for pesach. What does that even mean?

I combine spring cleaning with Pesach cleaning. I like to give the house a good cleaning once a year.

If you start cleaning 2 weeks before, when do you cook?

naturalmom5

Post Wed, Jan 16 2019, 8:01 pm
If you dont start Chanuka time,,,,...

You are doomed.... Sad

dankbar

Post Wed, Jan 16 2019, 8:11 pm
Don't wanna think about or talk about it yet!

watergirl

Post Wed, Jan 16 2019, 8:14 pm
amother wrote:
I combine spring cleaning with Pesach cleaning. I like to give the house a good cleaning once a year.