Home
    Private Messages   Advanced Search   Rules   New User Guide   FAQ   Advertise   Contact Us  
Forum -> Chinuch, Education & Schooling
Teacher asking me for advice!?

solo

Post Wed, Feb 20 2019, 2:49 pm
My oldest (6) is being disruptive in the classroom. Her teacher wants me to tell her how I would like her to handle it and create some kind of behavioral model. Also she is surprised that I haven’t been in touch with a psychiatrist yet- since she mentioned the negative behavior at pta (I wasn’t concerned since she didn’t seem concerned) I am so surprised. And unprepared for this. My friends tell me this is things r done nowadays.
I have zero classroom experience. And 6 yrs experience parenting a sweet precocious helpful 6 yr old. What should I tell her.

amother
Khaki

Post Wed, Feb 20 2019, 2:54 pm
Maybe observe the classroom for a day or two. If your daughter is sweet and precocious, then probably part of the classroom setup is making her bored and therefore disruptive. You can therefore suggest enrichment or alternative activities for her when she is supposed to be sitting quietly and listening as the teacher repeats the same information for the nth time (when she knew it before the first).

I agree with you that a psychiatrist is seriously overkill, unless you see clear evidence of an actual issue.

How much experience does this teacher have?

amother
Lawngreen

Post Wed, Feb 20 2019, 2:57 pm
Ask the teacher if she would be willing to come up with some kind of behavior chart to be sent home daily (reward to be given at home, doesn't have to be a "prize" could be earning some kind of privilege of special activity with you).

happymom123

Post Wed, Feb 20 2019, 3:03 pm
Since you know your child, you’d know what she’d “go for” but here are some ideas you can think about:
Responsibility - doing favors for the teacher, being in charge of holding the door, setting up supplies etc