Home
    Private Messages   Advanced Search   Rules   New User Guide   FAQ   Advertise   Contact Us  
Forum -> Chinuch, Education & Schooling
Does anyone know about Seattle schools?

amother
Khaki

Post Tue, Feb 26 2019, 9:49 am
I’m a nurse practitioner, and Washington State is consistently rated the best for job prospects, quite unlike my current state. But I can’t move anywhere there isn’t appropriate schooling for my kids. I’m from an out of town community, so I’m not expecting massive culture shock. My kids currently attend an OOT Bais Yaakov and the corresponding community boys school. Is there something like that in Seattle?

doctorima

Post Tue, Feb 26 2019, 9:56 am
There definitely is an established frum community there with schools. I'm not up-to-date, but when we visited several years ago, we were told that there's a lot of politics with the schooling options. Hopefully somebody local and with current information will have more to contribute.

FranticFrummie

Post Tue, Feb 26 2019, 10:12 am
I left Seattle 4 years ago, and several schools have changed administration since then. If I were you, I'd interview each school for yourself. The choices I am aware of are:

Chabad. If Morah Esther is still there for first and second grade, she is a LEGEND. She is currently teaching the children of her original students. Downside, mixed classes until third or fourth grade, unless they've gotten more pupils. Upside, very accepting of all backgrounds. Heavy Hebrew and Torah learning, not so much with the secular.

Seattle Hebrew Academy. Very modern left Orthodox. Mixed classes. Upside, there is a separate learning track for Sephardic kids. If you are Sephardic, that is for sure the school you want. 50/50 kodesh/chol.