Home
    Private Messages   Advanced Search   Rules   New User Guide   FAQ   Advertise   Contact Us  
Forum -> Chinuch, Education & Schooling
Spinoff- New school model

WitchKitty

Post Thu, Feb 28 2019, 12:07 pm
amother wrote:
- Build a very cool school model that allows learning to be goal-based, level-streamed and child-initiated, with a few core classes taken by everyone.
- Implement a much more logical elementary curriculum into the Jewish school system

Now, THIS. That is my dream. To have a school where you know that everyone is different, and that's okay.
I went to a private elementary school where, officially, your IQ is not the point, but your diligence was.
As a girl who was smarter than most, this was torture.
I would never study, not in class, not for tests, did not care about school, and I always felt that something was wrong with me because I didn't have to work hard for grades and did not get admired for studying for 14 hours and still getting a 67. Instead I studied for 0 hours and got a 90, so what am I worth?
Please. Why do we even have schools based on age? Why are our schools with a fixed curriculum?
If every single person on this earth is different, why are schools such a mass- factory of kids that are supposed to come out with the exact same knowledge all at once?

amother
Cyan

Post Thu, Feb 28 2019, 12:17 pm
In short, government standards.

Ruchel

Post Fri, Mar 01 2019, 7:36 am
Because for MOST it works

seeker

Post Fri, Mar 01 2019, 9:59 am
Where is that quoted post from?

amother
Tan

Post Fri, Mar 01 2019, 10:36 am
the ambition thread

amother
Tan

Post Fri, Mar 01 2019, 10:39 am
the problem with child initiated is that not all kids can handle it- either due to nature or nurture and then the school tries to figure out how to get the kids to do their work.

Zehava

Post Fri, Mar 01 2019, 11:00 am
Children are born with a natural desire to learn, an insatiable desire for knowledge. From when they learn to talk they begin asking questions.