Home
    Private Messages   Advanced Search   Rules   New User Guide   FAQ   Advertise   Contact Us  
Forum -> Parenting our children -> Teenagers and Older children
Celiac and sleepaway camp

amother
OP

Post Fri, May 10 2019, 5:51 am
My daughter has celiac but wants to go to sleepaway. Anyone sent their celiac child and what did they do? Camp said they would work with me bec it’s a new camp and new pots. Am I being realistic. I won’t be upstate to bring food.

amother
Lavender

Post Fri, May 10 2019, 6:43 am
my daughter has celiac. it never stopped her from doing anything. she brought gluten free items and ate protien, potato, rice fruit and veggies from camp. she asked if items were gluten prior to eating. no big deal. there are more gluten free girls around than you'd believe.

saw50st8

Post Fri, May 10 2019, 6:57 am
Camp Shoshanim is known to be celiac friendly. I have no first hand knowledge.

https://campshoshanim.org/shos.....tion/

amother
Blue

Post Fri, May 10 2019, 7:19 am
saw50st8 wrote:
Camp Shoshanim is known to be celiac friendly. I have no first hand knowledge.

https://campshoshanim.org/shos.....tion/

No personal knowledge of celiacs, but my daughter LOVES Shoshanim. It is a fabulous camp with great activities and lovely girls. She has camp friends with all sorts of dietary restrictions, I one good friend has celiacs and my daughter had discussed it. She mentioned that they have available baked potatoes for lunch daily - and the non-celiac girls love when there are leftovers that they can melt cheese into them.

I don't know your haskafa or location, but I would recommend the camp, without hesitation, for your DD with celiacs.

FranticFrummie

Post Fri, May 10 2019, 9:03 am
Not specific to this situation, but I just love that camps these days are so incredibly sensitive to allergies and other diet restriction.