Home
    Private Messages   Advanced Search   Rules   New User Guide   FAQ   Advertise   Contact Us  
Forum -> Inquiries & Offers -> Lakewood, Toms River & Jackson related Inquiries
If you report your babysitting income, how much taxes

amother
OP

Post Mon, Jun 03 2019, 9:09 pm
Hi. If you report your income as a babysitter are you paying double taxes because you are self employed?

Basically, I have a masters in an area which is quite flooded. Jobs are hard to come by and do not pay well at all. I really love little kids, and I would probably enjoy it more than my current job.

I am just trying to figure out what is more worth it. Currently now with my child tax credits and refunds I've been receiving, I basically got back whatever I've been paying in taxes. Does any w know how it works with babysitting? Can you get a refund? Or you are basically paying 15 to 20 percent plus in tax with no credit or return. Now I pay 10 percent but with 2 dependants and low income I get it all back

I know many posters will say to ask my accountanct. I will, but just trying to get a general picture....

mig100

Post Mon, Jun 03 2019, 9:16 pm
your question is quite confusing. im not sure what you mean- though I do think you are mixing up some basic facts.

1) you do not pay double taxes. if you are self employed you pay double social security tax ( which is .0725 I beleive) I think thats what your referring to. assuming you have the same amount of taxable( which I higly doubt that you will) income- this should be th only difference.

2) your income taxes- will depend on many things - no one can tell you "if you babysit- you will pay more/ less / the same amount of taxes"

3) if you are self employed- which you will be if you babysit- you can deduct work related expenses. which reduces your income.

the only way to know exactly how much taxes you will owe/ get back- would be to take the actualy numbers ( income, expenses, other deductions ) and do the calcualtion.