Home
    Private Messages   Advanced Search   Rules   New User Guide   FAQ   Advertise   Contact Us  
Forum -> Working Women -> Teachers' Room
Rejected from teaching position

amother
OP

Post Sun, Jun 16 2019, 10:55 pm
I worked as an assistant for a school and did a model lesson to be a teacher. Unfortunately, the principal did not feel like I was confident enough and rejected me for this year. I’m feeling very down and disappointed. Should I look for teaching jobs in other schools or stay in my school in hopes that In the future I’ll get a position?

amother
Tangerine

Post Sun, Jun 16 2019, 10:57 pm
Do you agree with the principal? Do you think you need more time as an assistant? If not - move on and apply elsewhere.

amother
OP

Post Sun, Jun 16 2019, 11:03 pm
I think it would help me be a better teacher in the future but there’s no way knowing if I would get a position in the school I’m currently in

unexpected

Post Sun, Jun 16 2019, 11:08 pm
If you are a very good assistant, the principal might feel that it is more of a priority to keep you as an assistant. If I were you, I would do a model lesson somewhere else just to hear an objective opinion.

amother
Tangerine

Post Sun, Jun 16 2019, 11:10 pm
amother [ OP ] wrote:
I think it would help me be a better teacher in the future but there’s no way knowing if I would get a position in the school I’m currently in

If you think being an assistant for another year will be value to you - and your finances allow for it - I'd recommend doing it again for a year. You may not be hired back - but you can apply elsewhere.

amother
Maroon

Post Sun, Jun 16 2019, 11:43 pm
amother [ OP ] wrote: