Home
    Private Messages   Advanced Search   Rules   New User Guide   FAQ   Advertise   Contact Us  
Forum -> Working Women
What do working women with working husbands do?!
1  2  3  Next

amother
OP

Post Thu, Jun 27 2019, 9:45 pm
I'm a public school teacher and need to be out of the house at around 7:20 each morning. It looks like my DH may be going to a coding bootcamp in Manhattan next year which would require that he leave the house at around 7:45.

I have 2 kids, one of whom will be going to playgroup next year. The other needs a full-time babysitter. The playgroup doesn't have any form of transportation (though they used to... I thought they still did when I chose to send my son there. I would've sent him somewhere closer to me had I known.)

How on earth do people manage to get their kids where they need to go, if both they and their DH work? I just tried to price around a babysitter to come to me and take my son to and from playgroup (it's about a 10 minute walk from my apartment). The person I called said it's $15/hour. That's out of my price range if my DH isn't working.

What would you do?

Last edited by amother on Thu, Jul 04 2019, 6:59 pm; edited 1 time in total

amother
Burgundy

Post Thu, Jun 27 2019, 9:53 pm
Different options. One, pay someone just for those gap hours when neither one of you can be home. Two, pay someone to work for you full time (obviously this is relevant to those earning enough that it makes sense). Three, parents carefully consider jobs and renegotiate work schedules once they have kids in the picture, because yes, someone needs to be there for them. Four, drop off toddler at the home of a friend in his class and the mother takes them to playgroup together when it's time. Pay her a fee that is usually less than hiring someone to your own home.

I'm sure there are more I'm not thinking of...