Home
    Private Messages   Advanced Search   Rules   New User Guide   FAQ   Advertise   Contact Us  
Forum -> Chinuch, Education & Schooling
Changing the education system...take 2
1  2  3  Next

Bobbywobby

Post Wed, Jul 24 2019, 10:57 am
Sorry about my earlier post....I’m new to this venue and wasn’t aware about the rules about mentioning blogs. I still would like to start a conversation about what can be done about improving the quality of our children’s experience in school. Are there really schools out there that kids are happy to go to? I think I would pick myself up and move if I could find a school like that. In the meantime I want to hear from others about what they think would make their kids experience in school a happier one.

mha3484

Post Wed, Jul 24 2019, 10:59 am
I have a challenging child and on his worst days, he loves school. They make it a warm happy place where the boys want to be there.

Do I love everything about his yeshiva, no I don't but I figure if I am 85-90% happy that is fine with me.

amother
Copper

Post Wed, Jul 24 2019, 12:01 pm
The issue is that the system works fofor most kids. so change is not likely to happen. Unfortunately my kids are not most.
They have a very hard time and would benefit from an individualized curriculum and Montessori style of learning. I think a really good place to start would be to have equal parts Hebrew and English throughout the day, shorter hrs, no school on Sunday, gym class every day with a focus on team sports, art, music, computers, field trips, outdoor play everyday, nutritious meals, individualized curriculum that differentiates for each childs strengths and weaknesses. Hands on/multisensory learning, group/partner learning. Being able to move around between activities.
SMALL CLASSES!

amother
Seafoam

Post Wed, Jul 24 2019, 12:13 pm