Home
    Private Messages   Advanced Search   Rules   New User Guide   FAQ   Advertise   Contact Us  
Forum -> Working Women
S/O Inappropriate Language At Work
1  2  Next

amother
OP

Post Sun, Aug 18 2019, 6:35 am
Please do not reply if you don't have any qualms about speaking or hearing inappropriate language.

I have coworkers who speak inappropriately at work and I really really don't want to hear it. I have a great relationship with them but it is still beyond awkward to say anything. I do say things to hint that I don't like it in a good-natured way, and they have noticed that I dont talk like them and one even said they admire it. Because of the setup of our workspace it is not possible to walk away or even gracefully end a conversation when this happens. I am interested in any advice or stories of how others have dealt with this.

Thank you in advance

hodeez

Post Sun, Aug 18 2019, 6:39 am
Earphones. I'm new at my job so I can't go around telling everyone how to talk yet 😂

FranticFrummie

Post Sun, Aug 18 2019, 6:42 am
Sadly, I don't think there's much you can do, besides setting a good example. You have to be very careful in the workplace, especially if your job requires teamwork. You need to stay approachable, and not alienate anyone.

I once gently told a coworker that I didn't appreciate a racist joke (it was really gross and over the top.) Everyone else in the office thought it was hysterical (all white office.) From that day on I was completely ostracized and isolated. Eventually the stress got so bad I had to quit.

Try working on putting a "mental filter" on your ears if you can't escape it. Daven that Hashem should help you only hear good things. It actually works!

Post Sun, Aug 18 2019, 6:59 am
Is it just nasty language or is it creating a hostile work environment? Go to human resources if it is.

You may be able to tone it down, but you won't make yourself popular. You need to weight the benefits against the potential hostility.