Home
    Private Messages   Advanced Search   Rules   New User Guide   FAQ   Advertise   Contact Us  
Forum -> Parenting our children -> School age children
What is the right age for swimming lessons?

amother
OP

Post Mon, Sep 23 2019, 1:47 am
I see conflicting info on the internet. From your experience, what is the most beneficial age to start lessons?

Ruchel

Post Mon, Sep 23 2019, 4:07 am
When the child is motivated OR very young if you're very consistent and takes well to it

amother
Olive

Post Mon, Sep 23 2019, 4:13 am
I have been teaching swimming for almost 20 years. From my experience, you do not need to start swimming lessons for a child until age 5-6. Until age 5 you just need to make sure that child is comfortable in the water and has no fear. They should be splashing around and have no problem dunking head in the water. You do not need a swimming teacher for this just exposure to water and maybe a bit of help from parent. If child has fear of water it may pay to get a couple lessons just to get comfort in the water. Once the child is comfortable in the water, I find that it only pays to start lessons at 5-6 years old. If you start earlier, you will spend A LOT of time and money getting them to do what can be done in one or two lessons as a 6 years old.

amother
Sapphire

Post Mon, Sep 23 2019, 5:44 am
I was told by a swimming teacher before 6 is a waste of time, ideally 7/8 is the best age.

notshanarishona

Post Mon, Sep 23 2019, 10:24 am
I don't agree that it's useless to start young . My daughter was swimming across the pool at age 3 (and then I got lazy and stopped teaching her and she is slowly picking up the form and here and there I throw in a lesson ). It really depends on the kid . She loved the water.

I also have many years experience teaching swimming .for some kids it's a waste and some kids do well

LovesHashem

Post Mon, Sep 23 2019, 10:38 am
I learned when I was 4, so did my other siblings.
We loved it and turned out just fine.