Home
    Private Messages   Advanced Search   Rules   New User Guide   FAQ   Advertise   Contact Us  
Forum -> Interesting Discussions
Is high school-level math really important?
  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  Next

amother
OP

Post Sun, Oct 27 2019, 10:52 pm
I'm a hs math teacher and probably not going to be for too much longer. One of the many reasons is that I just cannot justify to myself why it's important that my students know the material that I'm teaching.

Trust me, I know that it's supposed to teach logical reasoning. But a) there are plenty of people who are pretty good at logical reasoning but are terrible at math, b) many people get through life just fine without strong logical reasoning skills-and those are often the people who didn't do well in math in high school, and c) math is really hard for most people, so they're not learning the reasoning skills that it's supposed to teach, anyway.

Even great math teaching is usually either just teaching to a test, which doesn't really teach math, or attempts to teach students reasoning skills that are way above most of their heads.

So, as a math teacher who loves math, convince me: why is it important to teach high school level math? Why is it considered such an essential part of the curriculum?

(Note: I'm not talking about percentages, arithmetic, fractions, or the like. I'm talking about Algebra, Geometry, Trigonometry, Pre-Calculus, and Calculus.)

amother
Cerulean

Post Sun, Oct 27 2019, 10:57 pm
Depending on the type of kids you're teaching this may or may not be true.... but many college degrees and careers will in fact use this math. For the rest, not so much.

amother
OP

Post Sun, Oct 27 2019, 10:59 pm
amother [ Cerulean ] wrote:
Depending on the type of kids you're teaching this may or may not be true.... but many college degrees and careers will in fact use this math. For the rest, not so much.

Really?