Home
    Private Messages   Advanced Search   Rules   New User Guide   FAQ   Advertise   Contact Us  
Forum -> The Social Scene -> Chit Chat
Making Shabbat in an hour...
1  2  Next

Ima4therecord

Post Fri, Nov 01 2019, 11:26 am
I've heard a few people say "over the years I've been able to make shabbos in an hour"... What does this mean? Doesn't it take three hours to cook meat or an hour and a half to cook chicken lol

Everytime I cook and it takes a few hours (if I do it all in one day) I hear that voice of "oh I could do it in an hour..." I know I shouldn't be comparing to other people... But it's hard Sad

But seriously what do they mean?

BetsyTacy

Post Fri, Nov 01 2019, 11:34 am
They mean the prep time of active kitchen work, not the cooking time.

mha3484

Post Fri, Nov 01 2019, 11:37 am
I have been making shabbos for almost ten years. At this point I can get everything prepared in an hour or two at the most but that I not cooking time just cutting, peeling, spicing, etc.

Plonis

Post Fri, Nov 01 2019, 11:39 am
Chicken in a covered pan on the stove cooks in 40 minutes. Pizza dough makes dense but good quick challah. Chicken soup is cooked within an hour, leave on blech for best taste, use baby carrots so no peeling. Serve with croutons. Fish can cook in an hour if defrosted, otherwise tuna or salmon works. Boxed brownies mix. Pasta salad and cucumber salad are quick. Store bought chumus. Sweet lokshen kugel is fairly fast, make in a square pan because 9x13 takes longer to bake. Green beans drizzled with oil and honey, baked in oven on pan. Simple meat and potatoes cholent.

It’s a rush, simple food, but possible. A well done Shabbos takes me 3+ hours on Friday.

Optione

Post Fri, Nov 01 2019, 11:53 am
Does the hour include oven time and final clean up?

-Fish- gefilte loaf in loaf pan. Cut in onions or carrots if you'd like, cover with foil (5 min)